top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Wiley

10 ways to beat anxiety.

Updated: Apr 12, 2020

Hi guys!! I hope all is well. Since school is back in full swing this week, I feel like anxiety is a good topic to cover. Personally, I have been dealing with some major anxiety throughout the past few weeks, for no particular reason. I have been getting myself pretty worked up to the point where it has been affecting my daily life. So, I thought what better time to share my tips/tricks that I actually use to try and stop my anxiety from being an everyday issue.


1.) Therapy

I have talked about this in more detail in this blog post. But, I seriously think therapy has played a huge role in controlling my anxiety in the grand scheme of things. Just having someone there who is educated in anxiety disorders, who knows my situation, and can help walk me through helpful coping tactics is extremely beneficial.


2.) Cardio workouts

I have a love-hate relationship with cardio. Most days, I really do not feel like running or doing extreme HIIT workouts, just because of how hard it can be. But, on days when I am struggling and feel anxious out of my mind, cardio seems to really help clear me up. When you are doing intense cardio workouts, your body really has no option but to focus on the workout in the moment. When I am running, I really don't have any other time to overthink/worry because all I can think about is my difficult workout.


3.) Reading fiction books

A YouTuber I love, Lauren Elizabeth, mentioned this idea in one of her recent videos and it really resonated with me. Finding an entertaining fiction book that you enjoy reading is key when trying to keep your thought pattern off negative, spiraling, anxious thoughts. At first, I thought reading self-help books could be beneficial, but I agree with what Lauren said in her video... personally, when I am reading these books it just makes me think about my anxiety even more. So, I think reading a good fiction book is so important to keep your head focused on a reality that is completely outside of your own. Here are some of my favorites that I have read recently that I could not put down.


4.) Eat blueberries

I don't know how scientifically valid this is, or if it is all in my head. But, I saw this picture on Instagram and I wanted to try it out. I have been incorporating frozen blueberries as a meal/snack on days when I am feeling particularly anxious. It seems to be helping!

5.) Take a bath

Sometimes, the perfect cure for my most anxious days is a hot bubble bath. Sitting in a hot bath, sweating out all the negative toxins is just what I need to relax. Light a candle, use a bath bomb, play some chill music, and just be present.


6.) Take magnesium supplements

Magnesium is an important mineral that many people are not consuming enough of on a daily basis. I found a bottle of 60 tablets at my local Trader Joes for $2.99. I take them (if I remember) at breakfast, and they seem to be helpful in regulating anxiety, along with all of the other benefits that Magnesium brings.

7.) Yoga

Yoga has been playing such a positive role in my life. It may seem intimidating to go to a class, but from my experience, most people are not super advanced. Grab a friend and attend a class to check out all of the physical and emotional benefits for yourself. If you live in Westminster, Downtown Yoga is amazing.


8.) Listening to podcasts in the car

If you are like me, you probably overthink a lot while driving... because there really is not anything else to do. I have found that playing podcasts while driving gives me benefits similar to reading fiction books. You are listening and thinking about what someone else is talking about, so you have less brain-space (is that a thing?) to focus on negative worries. I have talked about my favorites before, but just as a reminder, some of the most enjoyable ones I have found are The Morning Toast, Views with David Dobrik and Jason Nash, and Mood with Lauren Elizabeth.


9.) Lavender Essential Oils

Personally, lavender is an extremely calming smell that helps ease my anxious feelings. Whether its diffusing the oil in a diffuser, or just rolling some oil on my wrists, it immediately calms me down. I take a tiny bottle of lavender oil on airplanes as well when traveling and it really helps reduce my airplane induced anxiety.

10.) Not overbooking my days

I find that my anxiety is particularly strong on days where I am on the go 24/7. I am a person who needs time throughout the day to relax and decompress. It is important to understand your limits, and know what you mentally or physically can/cannot do. I am learning the importance of saying no, for my mental health, and this has been very beneficial in helping reduce my anxiety. I find that using a to-do list or Google calendar can help keep track of daily activities and limit stressors regarding these types of things.


Alright so, I hope these ideas will help some of you guys. Let me know if you try any of these tips and if they worked for you!! And if you need someone to talk to about anything, I am always here for you.


Love,

Megan Wiley.

120 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page