top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Wiley

mental health in self-isolation.

Hello everyone! Happy Easter!! On this blog, one of the things I love to focus on is health and wellness. To me, this term encompasses all aspects of health and wellbeing... physical, emotional, and mental. During COVID-19 when we are all stuck at home, I know many are struggling with mental health so I wanted to write some advice to help manage these trying times.

I am by no means a professional in the field of psychology or mental health or anything related but I have had my own personal struggles with anxiety so I thought it would be helpful to share things that I know that definitely help me. Be 100% Patient With Yourself Throughout so many days of my self-isolation, I have been plagued with guilt for not eating healthy enough, not working out hard enough or skipping days, being on my phone too much, etc. It is so important to remind ourselves that these are unprecedented times. Give yourself some credit for getting up for the day and just be patient with your progress. Also, I think it is so important to not compare what you are doing daily to others. Keep in mind that your path during your self-isolation will look completely different from others, and that is 100% okay!

Take Time to Truly Open Your Eyes and Be Grateful

We are blessed with more time than ever on our hands since we are stuck at home, so it is the perfect time to be more aware of our surroundings and take in all of the blessings we have been given. I have been trying to go on longer walks when the weather is nice and not be on my phone besides listening to music. I look around at the plants growing, notice the flowers, wildlife, and homes that I was too distracted to notice before. It is a calming practice and really makes you have a more grateful understanding of things going on around us. 



Stay Connected to Those in Your Life

I consider myself a very introverted person, so I really did not think not having social interaction would be a big deal to me. But after a week or two of being stuck in my home with just my family, I longed for my friends. Last night, a group of us met up in a parking lot and stayed about 10 feet apart, but wrapped up in blankets and just sat and talked. It was amazing to me how refreshing it was to have social interaction, and how good it made me feel to be connected again to those I love. Whether it be Zoom calls, FaceTimes, phone chats, texting, or social distancing meet-ups, staying connected to friends and family I feel is a very beneficial contribution to staying sane and happy during times of self-isolation.

When Things Get Tough, Find Ways to Escape Reality

Some days are definitely better than others for me. On bad days when I am extremely anxious, nothing helps me more than focusing on my hobbies that can pull my mind out of the present and help me escape reality for a little while. Reading has been able to do this for me. I light candles, turn on some relaxing music, and spend an hour or two with my nose in a book. This keeps me from thinking about the troubling, anxiety-causing things going on in this world today. 



Hopefully these things will help you guys think about ways to turn things around in your life to truly help improve your mental health and happiness during self-isolation! If you have any advice for others that you use during these times, leave them in the comments below!! And like always, be sure to wash your hands and try to stay as healthy as possible!!

-Megan Wiley

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page