top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Wiley

how therapy is changing my life.

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

as may is mental health month, i think it's the perfect time to talk about the stigma attached to therapy... and how there shouldn't be a stigma at all. i know i am not anywhere near a professional on this topic whatsoever, but it has positively affected my life and i just thought it could be something good to share for others out there considering getting help by a therapist.


all through my life, i am ashamed to admit, that anytime i heard of somebody going to therapy i would think of it in a negatively. i would think, "they really need to pay someone to help them with their problems???" these thought patterns were the norm to me, until i quite literally discovered i shouldn't be judging others whatsoever. i needed help with my problems, and having a therapist there to guide me through my emotions and general life issues is exactly what i needed at this time in my life.


since my panic attack in the fall, i was struggling with general anxiety about any given thing, every single day. no matter who i told, no matter what advice i was given, nothing was helping me get over my emotions and my anxiety.


finally, i thought about therapy. i researched different therapists in my area and chose one that i thought would fix my needs. yes, i was scared at first because i had no idea what to expect. i didn't even know if my "issues" were warranted of the help of a paid professional. but, i went in and gave it a shot. and i had way more to talk about then i even realized. every time i went to therapy, i felt myself leaving feeling happy, and weight being lifted off my shoulders. having a place to go to just rant, and get professional help at the same time is truly freeing.


i feel like this is something that in the past i would have been ashamed about, or i never would have publicly admitted. but, it is a weekly thing in my life that i look forward to, that is truly helping me get through the hard times. even if you think your problems are too small or unimportant, or you are scared to seek help, i recommend just giving therapy a shot. you don't realize the benefits that come from it until you truly give it a chance.


♡megan.



53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page