top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Wiley

i ran a mile every day for thirty days.

about a month and a half ago, i was scrolling through youtube videos, like i typically do, when a certain video caught my eye. the title was "i only changed one thing. this is what happened." the image for the video was a girl with drastic weight change before and after images. like click-baitey youtube videos have the tendency to do to me, i clicked the video and i was sucked in. before continuing to read this post, i believe it is important for all of you to watch this video too. the creator of the video, liezl jayne strydom, describes the words that changed my life way better than i could in this short post.



so basically after watching this video, i realized that everything liezl said was true for me. i got to the point in my life where i was lacking confidence and i could not trust myself because i was breaking every single promise i was making personally to myself, little promises or big promises.


i decided that i needed to begin by making a small and accomplishable goal for myself. at the same time that i found liezl's video, i saw a video of a girl who ran a mile every single day for thirty days, and i was inspired by that as well. (just in case you were curious, here is this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wua1QHkgncw&list=LLQVJixYUqSsuLEtOWvXzlfQ&index=74&t=275s) for someone who absolutely hates running, this was a goal that would be particularly challenging for me, but could also be completely manageable as long as i stuck to it.


i tried to not make that many rules for myself except that i should not go under 6.0 mph speed if running on the treadmill, i could not stop or take a break until i was done, it had to be a complete mile distance-wise, and i needed to do it every single day for 30 days, no matter what circumstances.


the first few days were somewhat challenging just because i am not a very cardio inclined individual. after about four days though, the running seemed to get a little easier. then, i went to my cousins house for the weekend. fitting in the mile while traveling and staying in a home that did not have a working treadmill was difficult, but i got it done. i got home, got about another week in, and things were getting easier and i pushed my speed and went a little harder when running.


then my aunt who lives in florida unexpectedly passed away. this was an extremely difficult time for my family, and we ended up having to drive down to florida for about a week. making sure i got the mile in during that time every single day was challenging, especially with how busy we were. i also got extremely sick while in florida and had to run through the days of a snotty nose, malfunctioning lungs, and a sore throat. but i pushed myself every single day and never skipped once, even when i really, really, REALLY wanted to. the day i ran my 30th mile, i cried a few tears of joy.


even though i feel like the cardio every day made me maybe a little stronger and maybe allowed me to drop a few pounds around my waist, it was really the substantial mental impact this 30 day challenge had on me. i proved to myself that i could accomplish this goal, and it really shows i can accomplish anything else i want to set my mind to. running a mile every day may not be a big deal to many people, but just the fact that i got my shit together enough to get it done every single day shows the dedication and strength i can apply to not just running, but any other challenge in my life that stands in my way. completing this small promise to myself opens up the gates to complete any other various promise i decide to make to myself. and beginning to trust myself in this way will help me become a more successful and confident individual.


i am not sure what my next promise to myself will be, but i do know how much i have learned from this little challenge, and how accomplished i feel now that i know that i am capable of doing such a thing. maybe YOU can challenge yourself to a little promise!! with the new year coming up, there is no better time to take the reigns on your life and to work on changing things for the better.


anyways, thank you to anyone who has read this rant/supported me throughout the month of running. let me know if anyone decides to make a promise!! i would love to hear what y'all decide to do.


love always,

megan wiley.



"make room for the next version of yourself. she's coming."

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page